Friday, March 30, 2018

Review 'Only Enchanting' by Mary Balogh

The Survivors' Club: Six men and one woman, all wounded in the Napoleonic Wars, their friendship forged during their recovery at Penderris Hall in Cornwall. Now, in the fourth novel of the Survivors' Club series, Flavian, Viscount Ponsonby, has left this refuge to find his own salvation—in the love of a most unsuspecting woman…

Flavian, Viscount Ponsonby, was devastated by his fiancĂ©e’s desertion after his return home. Now the woman who broke his heart is back—and everyone is eager to revive their engagement. Except Flavian, who, in a panic, runs straight into the arms of a most sensible yet enchanting young woman.

Agnes Keeping has never been in love—and never wishes to be. But then she meets the charismatic Flavian, and suddenly Agnes falls so foolishly and so deeply that she agrees to his impetuous proposal of marriage.

When Agnes discovers that the proposal is only to avenge his former love, she’s determined to flee. But Flavian has no intention of letting his new bride go, especially now that he too has fallen so passionately and so unexpectedly in love.

The Facts:

Publication Date:
October 28th, 2014
The Survivors’ Club #4
Historical Romance
eBook, Paperback, Hardcover, Audiobook
Available at:

My Review: 

Over the years I’ve read two Mary Balogh novels and I just loved them. So I was really looking forward to reading ‘Only Enchanting’, the fourth book in The Survivors Club series. Although this book is part of a series, the books can be read separately and as standalones. 

In ‘Only Enchanting’ we meet Flavian, Viscount Ponsonby. Flavian was hurt in the war several years ago. And next to a shaky memory, he has had some trouble with dealing with his anger. Especially when he thinks of his past.
Agnes Keeping has lived a safe life. Agnes married a nice, but slightly boring guy next door and is now a widow. And Agnes has never been in love. Love isn’t necessary she thinks. But when she meets the charming Flavian, she find herself feeling things she never felt before.  

Just like with the previous two books in this series I read, this book just grabbed my attention from the very first page. And I simply didn’t want to stop reading. Agnes and Flavian are two very different people, but their chemistry was really flying of the pages. And their romance started at this beautiful dance and I was simply hooked. 

The two main characters Agnes and Flavian where really fun to get to know. Agnes was this nice, but ordinary woman who missed her husband after he passed. But she didn’t miss him cause she loved him so much, she just missed having a goal in life. And now she is living with her sister and making time for her hobby: painting. And Flavian definitely shook her out her ‘safe’ life.
Flavian is charming, but has his troubles. And he finds Agnes more then interesting. There is just something about her, and I loved the fact that he was so fascinated with her.  

‘Only Enchanting’ to me, was the perfect Historical Romance novel. I loved the romance, the etiquette and the charming way Flavian and Agnes fell in love. The writing was easy to follow, and there were so many characters I’d still like to get to know.. I definitely need to read more books in this series.

My Rating:

About the Author:

Mary Jenkins was born in 1944 in Swansea, Wales, UK. After graduating from university, moved to Saskatchewan, Canada, to teach high school English, on a two-year teaching contract in 1967. She married her Canadian husband, Robert Balogh, and had three children, Jacqueline, Christopher and Sian. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, music and knitting. She also enjoys watching tennis and curling.

Mary Balogh started writing in the evenings as a hobby. Her first book, a Regency love story, was published in 1985 as A Masked Deception under her married name. In 1988, she retired from teaching after 20 years to pursue her dream to write full-time. She has written more than seventy novels and almost thirty novellas since then, including the New York Times bestselling 'Slightly' sextet and 'Simply' quartet. She has won numerous awards, including Bestselling Historical of the Year from the Borders Group, and her novel Simply Magic was a finalist in the Quill Awards. She has won seven Waldenbooks Awards and two B. Dalton Awards for her bestselling novels, as well as a Romantic Times Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information about Mary please visit her website. Or visit her on Facebook.

I received this book from the Little, Brown Book Group in exchange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Imagination Designs
Artwork from: