Saturday, July 25, 2015

Review 'Wild Blue Yonder' by Megan Tayte

The Ceruleans: mere mortals infused with power over life and death. Five books; one question: If the might of the heavens were in your hands, would you be a sinner or saint?

When Scarlett Blake chose life-after-death as a Cerulean, she expected to grieve for all she left behind: her boyfriend, her best friend, her mother, her home. But at least Cerulea, her heaven, would be… well, heavenly. Right?


The world in which Scarlett awakens is very far from her idea of a utopia. Picturesque, sure, and serene. But there can be no paradise within the unforgiving walls of a prison, be they of cold, hard stone or beautifully blue water.

Now Scarlett faces her hardest decision yet: be a good, dutiful Cerulean, or be true to herself and fight for freedom.

And if she can find a way to escape, what then? Can she finally reunite with her lost sister? Can she save Sienna from the murderous Fallen? Can she evade her destiny with the Ceruleans?

Can Scarlett Blake ever reclaim her life-before-death… or must she let go of all she loves?

My Review:

This year I read the first two books in the Ceruleans series, ‘Death Wish’ and ‘Forget Me Not’. I really loved those first two books in this series so I couldn’t wait to start the third book ‘Wild Blue Yonder’. I was especially excited because I knew this book would reveal some of the secrets about the Cerulean world. So when the day came that I could start reading, I was almost jumping with excitement.

‘Wild Blue Yonder’ starts exactly were the last book ended. Scarlett’s human life is over and now she is on the Island of Cerulea. There are a lot of things Scarlett needs to get used to. For example the way life on the Island will go for her. It seems there are a lot of things planned out for Scarlett. Things Scarlett had no idea of.

The third book in the series was very different than the first two books. There are finally some things explained, but it’s definitely also a much sadder book. In the first two books Scarlett was saying goodbye but now Scarlett’s whole life has changed. No boyfriend Luke, no best friend Cara, no living on her own in the little house.
I was a little afraid about how this book was going to go, and if I would like it. And although this book really is different I still loved it as much as the first two books. The writing is great and although not a lot is happening throughout this book, Megan Tayte makes sure you keep sitting on the edge of your seat. And I still just wanted to know more.

My favorite character in this book was definitely Scarlett. Scarlett was strong, didn’t freak out and didn’t give up. Especially after all the things she learned, I found this very impressive. I mean, I freaked out about some things Scarlett was expected to do on that island.
In this third book, we also get to see more of Jude. I never really liked him in the first two books, and I still don’t really get him. But there are some things explained about him in this book, that made me like him more.

This book is definitely another great one in the Ceruleans series. Especially that ending!! ;) I can’t wait to start reading the fourth book in this series.
If you haven’t read the first two books in this series.. Go read them. It’s such a good series!!

My Rating:



About the Author:

Once upon a time a little girl told her grandmother that when she grew up she wanted to be a writer. Or a lollipop lady. Or a fairy princess fireman. 'Write, Megan,' her grandmother advised. So that's what she did.

Thirty-odd years later, Megan writes the kinds of books she loves to read: young-adult paranormal romance fiction. Young adult, because it's the time of life that most embodies freedom and discovery and first love. Paranormal, because she's always believed that there are more things in heaven and on earth than are dreamt of in our philosophy. And romance, because she's a misty-eyed dreamer who lives for those 'life is so breathtakingly beautiful' moments.

Megan grew up in the Royal County, a hop, skip and a (very long) jump from Windsor Castle, but these days she makes her home in Robin Hood's county, Nottingham. She lives with her husband, a proud Scot who occasionally kicks back in a kilt; her son, a budding artist with the soul of a paleontologist; and her baby daughter, a keen pan-and-spoon drummer who sings in her sleep. When she's not writing, you'll find her walking someplace green, reading by the fire, or creating carnage in the kitchen as she pursues her impossible dream: of baking something edible.

For more information about Megan Tayte and her books please visit her website, Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest

Thank you for visiting Maureen's Books!



  1. It sounds like this is a wonderful series, and despite this one having a sadder tone, I am glad the answer and ending satisfied.

    1. It really is a wonderful series. Very original and every book is different.
      Thanks for stopping by ;)


Imagination Designs
Artwork from: