Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Review 'Death Wish' by Megan Tayte

The Ceruleans: mere mortals infusted with power over life and death. Five books: one question: if the might of the heavens were in your hands, would you be sinner or saint?

Seventeen-year-old Scarlett Blake is haunted by death. Her estranged sister has made the ultimate dramatic exit. Running away from school, joining a surfing fraternity, partying hard: that sounds like Sienna. But suicide? It makes no sense.

Following in her sister’s footsteps, Scarlett comes to the isolated cove of Twycombe, Devon, with grand plans to uncover the truth. Alone. But she hasn’t reckoned on meeting two boys who are determined to help her. Luke: the blue-eyed surfer who’ll see the real Scarlett, who’ll challenge her, who’ll save her. And Jude: the elusive drifter with a knack for turning up whenever Scarlett’s in need.

As Scarlett’s quest for the truth unravels, so too does her grip on reality as she’s always known it. Because there’s something strange going on in this little cove. A dead magpie circles the skies. A dead deer watches from the undergrowth. Hands glow with light. Warmtt. Power.

What transpires is a summer of discovery. Of what it means to conquer fear. To fall in love. To choose life. To choose death.

To believe the impossible.

My Review:

Last month I received ‘Death Wish’ in exchange for my honest review. I read the book description and loved the sound of this book. I never heard about this author before so I didn’t really know what I could expect from this book. But not only the book description pulled me into reading this book.. The cover of ‘Death Wish’ is just amazing. I really love that cover. And when I read this book will be the first one in a five book series.. I just knew I had to read it.

In ‘Death Wish’ we meet Scarlett Blake, a seventeen year old on a guest to learn the truth about her sister’s death. Scarlett is staying the summer in her grandparents old house in the isolated cove of Twycombe. She’s not there to enjoy a summer on the beach but to find out what went through her sisters head before she died.
Scarlett’s sister Siena committed suicide, at least that is what everybody is telling Scarlett. But Scarlett has trouble believing her sisters fate, so this summer she is set on finding some answers. Answers that are hard to find and soon she finds herself with even more questions. Thankfully Scarlett also finds new friends and a life she didn’t expect to get attached to.

‘Death Wish’ is a book in which you can easily lose yourself. I started reading this book and didn’t stop until I read all 305 pages. Megan Tayte has a writing style that is easy to follow and this book is a perfect combination of romance, mystery and heartbreak. The characters is this book are just really easy to love. There’s the main character Scarlett, who I loved from the very first page. Scarlett is young but has some incredible strength inside her. Although she had some pretty bad examples in live, she found the strength to come to Twycombe, live on her own and find answers through getting out of her comfort zone. I just really liked her.

And then there are Luke and Cara. Luke is just the perfect book boyfriend. I loved him from the start and was totally rooting for him and Scarlett. I loved how he took care of Scarlett and I just couldn’t get enough of reading about him. And Cara was just a really fun character. I loved her joyous, playful way of living her life and surrounding everyone around her with happiness.

Yes, I definitely loved this book and these characters. This book is just very well written. There is a lot of mystery and it’s very unpredictable. Until the very end I didn’t have a clue about how this book would end. And to be honest, I think this book is the perfect example of how the first book in a series must be. It definitely made me want to keep reading and I honestly can’t wait to read more books in this series. Amazing job, Megan Tayte!! 

My Rating:


About the Author:

Once upon a time a little girl told her grandmother that when she grew up she wanted to be a writer. Or a lollipop lady. Or a fairy princess fireman. 'Write, Megan,' her grandmother advised. So that's what she did.

Thirty-odd years later, Megan writes the kinds of books she loves to read: young-adult paranormal romance fiction. Young adult, because it's the time of life that most embodies freedom and discovery and first love. Paranormal, because she's always believed that there are more things in heaven and on earth than are dreamt of in our philosophy. And romance, because she's a misty-eyed dreamer who lives for those 'life is so breathtakingly beautiful' moments.

Megan grew up in the Royal County, a hop, skip and a (very long) jump from Windsor Castle, but these days she makes her home in Robin Hood's county, Nottingham. She lives with her husband, a proud Scot who occasionally kicks back in a kilt; her son, a budding artist with the soul of a paleontologist; and her baby daughter, a keen pan-and-spoon drummer who sings in her sleep. When she's not writing, you'll find her walking someplace green, reading by the fire, or creating carnage in the kitchen as she pursues her impossible dream: of baking something edible.

For more information about Megan Tayte and her books please visit her website, Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest

Thank you for visiting Maureen's Books!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Imagination Designs
Artwork from: