Friday, August 29, 2014

Blog Tour 'Aerenden Series: The Child Returns' by Kristen Taber

Welcome at my stop on the ‘Aerenden Series’ blog tour by Kristen Taber. The ‘Aerenden Series’ is a  fantasy series of which the first three books are available now. For this book tour I have read the first book in this series 'The Child Returns'. 

I hope you enjoy your stay here on Maureen’s Books. 

About the Book:


Seventeen-year-old Meaghan has no idea her perfect life has been a lie — until she witnesses her parents’ brutal murders at the hands of red-eyed creatures.

After nearly sharing their fate, she escapes with her best friend, Nick, who tells her the creatures are called Mardróch. They come from another world, and so does she. Now that the Mardróch have found her, she must return to her homeland of Ærenden or face death.

Left with little choice, she follows Nick into a strange world both similar to Earth and drastically different. Vines have the ability to attack. Monkeys freeze their victims with a glare. Men create bombs from thin air. Even Meaghan’s newly discovered empath power turns into a danger she cannot control.

But control becomes the least of her worries once the Mardróch begin targeting her. When Nick confesses he knows the reason they want her, she learns the truth behind the kingdom's fifteen-year civil war — a long-buried secret that could cost Meaghan her life.

For more information about this series please go to Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Kobo, Ibooks, Audible Audio and Itunes Audio

My Review:


When I first read the description of ‘The Child Returns’ by Kristen Taber I immediately thought this book was something for me. I soon found out that there is already a whole series out there of which I had no clue. I loved the covers for the Aerenden series and when I saw the sign up on Candace’s Book blog for the ‘Aerenden Blog Tour’ I just couldn’t resist and signed up.

In ‘The Child Returns’ we meet Meaghan, a seemingly normal girl and her best friend Nick. Meaghan and Nick are having a little trouble in their friendship since Meaghan tried to kiss Nick a couple of days ago. When Nick decides to go away to make sure nothing more can happen between him and Meaghan, Meaghan is heartbroken. But Nick never gets the opportunity to go away because soon Meaghan witnesses the murders of her parents and Nick is the only one who can protect Meaghan. Soon Meaghan finds out that Nick isn’t who she thought he was and that there are evil beings after her. What Meaghan didn’t expect is to find out that she also isn’t who she thought she was and soon Meaghan is on her way to another world in which she had an important task.

There are a lot of books in which the beginning isn’t all that interesting or is just very slow, but you just have to get through it to understand what is happening and most time the beginning was completely worth it because the rest of the book was just really good. In ‘The Child Returns’ there was no such thing as a not interesting or slow beginning. Right from the first page you’re immediately part of the action. There is no slowly getting to know the characters. Right from the first page you’re completely pulled into the story of Meaghan. Everything is happening and changing very fast for her and this made this book very exciting and thrilling.

From the beginning I loved Nick and I immediately felt like there was more to him than you think in the beginning. The chemistry between Meaghan and Nick was almost flying of the pages and I really didn’t understand why Nick didn’t acknowledge his feelings for Meaghan.
I also felt really sorry for Meaghan. She was just overwhelmed with all this new stuff and finding out there is a whole other world out there but there just wasn’t any time for her to think about all these new things. To be honest I think she handled everything perfectly. She just trusted Nick with whole her heart. I just loved that about Meaghan.

I realise that this review is a little chaotic, but that is exactly how this book made me feel. There is so much happening and there is a lot of things to find out. I couldn’t stop reading this book because I just felt like I was sitting next to Meaghan and finding out everything at the same time she did. I loved to learn more about the new world and this book was just the perfect mix between romance, action, friendship and fantasy. I really loved it and definitely recommend it to other readers. 

About the other books in this series:


Book two: 'The Gildonae Alliance':

Several months after Meaghan's return to AErenden, the kingdom's war has taken a turn for the worse. The Mardroch army hunts the new King and Queen, destroying villages in its wake. And Meaghan and Nick, training for battle in a remote section of wilderness, are far from safe. Danger hides in shadows and behind innocent faces. Allies become foes. Each day is a fight to survive. But in the end, only one threat matters. And it's a threat they never see coming.   

Book three: 'The Zeiihbu Master':

Separated and on opposite sides of the kingdom, Nick and Meaghan face different pursuits which could change the balance of power in Ærenden forever.

While Nick trains the villagers to be soldiers, Meaghan and a small rescue party venture into Zeiihbu to find Faillen's young son, before Garon can use the boy's power to destroy those still fighting against his rule.

Everyone knows Meaghan could be on a suicide mission, but when Nick stumbles upon a secret concealed in one of the southern villages, he realizes that Garon might not be Meaghan's greatest foe. The enemy most likely to kill her is someone who has also promised to keep her safe.

For more information about this series please visit the Aerenden website

About the Author:

Born in Bangor, Maine, author Kristen Taber spent her childhood at the feet of an Irish storytelling grandfather, learning to blend fact with fiction and imagination with reality. She lived within the realm of the tales that captivated her, breathing life into characters and crafting stories even before she could read. Those stories have since turned into over a hundred poems, several short tales, and
five manuscripts in both the Young Adult and Adult genres. Currently, Ms. Taber is completing the five-part Ærenden series from her home office in the suburbs of Washington D.C.

For more information about Kristen Taber and the Aerenden series please visit her website, Facebook, Goodreads and Twitter.  


a Rafflecopter giveaway

This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions


  1. Maureen, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I couldn't ask for a better way to go into the weekend :).

    1. You're very welcome! I'm glad you liked my review. Your book was amazing so you totally deserve it ;)

  2. YAY! I'm so glad you loved it too! I think being introduced to a world through the eyes of a character who is new to it is the best way. They are amazed by things and mention it (or think about it) and it makes it easier for us to soak it all up. Thank you so much for hosting a tour stop!

    1. That's so true. I really felt like I was finding everything out at the same time the characters did. Loved it.
      Thanks for adding me as a host for this tour ;)


Imagination Designs
Artwork from: